Credit Union acronyms still harsh my mellow

I was saddened to learn that Randolph Brooks FCU, a very large credit union in San Antonio, now calls itself RBFCU. Yet another excellent and distinctive credit union name falls by the wayside into a vast sea of sameness. This is the opposite of the differentiation and distinction goals that good business practice calls for.

Based on a previous blog post:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 Responses to “Credit Union acronyms still harsh my mellow”

  1. TCUL Advocacy Says:

    You know, this does remind me of the Wisconsin Tourism Federation – which recently had to change it’s name because it’s acronym is… Well, you know.
    http://news.cnet.com/8301-17852_3-10365240-71.html

  2. Tim McAlpine Says:

    OMG! Such an awesome post.

  3. Ron Shevlin Says:

    Great job. Loved this. Do more videos.

  4. Ron Shevlin Says:

    p.s.

    @TCUL Advocacy: You might like this:

    http://marketingroi.wordpress.com/2007/04/13/a-credit-union-that-needs-a-name-change/

  5. Eric Acree Says:

    Outstanding post Morriss!

  6. Morriss Partee Says:

    Thanks Tim, Ron & Eric!

    @Ron I will do more video posts if you promise to as well! Thanks for turning us onto the xtranormal site!

  7. Christopher Morris Says:

    Thanks for the shout out. Again, I was joking when I tweeted that, but it does come up alot – many don’t know the difference. Even my parents still think I work at a credit union or something.

  8. Credit Union Warrior/Matt Davis Says:

    This made my night! Thank you so much for this! πŸ™‚

  9. Debra Says:

    This is way so cool and right on. I hope you bring the topic to Maine!

  10. Dean Procter Says:

    Ditto TCUL – Wisconsin was the first thing I thought of too…in a vague way.

    Differentiation – the FCUKBANKS CU ?

  11. Christopher Morris Says:

    BTW – I don’t want to give the impression that I expect non-CU folks to understand the difference between CUNA & CUNA Mutual. Believe me, the majority of people here in Madison don’t know.

    If I remember correctly, when I “incredulously” tweeted, I was talking about credit union professionals that do business with both organizations for many years….and still don’t know the difference. I don’t know if that’s a failing on CUNA or CUNA Mutual’s awareness efforts or a lack of intellectual curiousity by some CU execs, but it happens. I admit it doesn’t help that almost everyone in CU land refers to both as just “CUNA.” But hey, I’m just a web geek so what do I know πŸ™‚

    But I do agree with the premise of your blog post. And someone should add a dance beat to the part where the robotic lady spits out all those acronyms and post it to YouTube. Or maybe not.

  12. Morriss Partee Says:

    @Christopher – Thanks for being such a great sport on this one. Sorry if I exaggerated your tweet by saying you were ‘incredulous’ about it – I should have been more thoughtful about who you were referring to (the CU veterans) who still don’t understand the difference when really they should. It’s just that your tweet from June 08 is what triggered my rant against credit union initialisms… and wonderful that Ron discovered this xtranormal site so that the blog post could be translated into video, where the ridiculousness of so many intialisms is much more apparent than in print.

    Oh, and I love the idea of the dance beat under the CU initialisms… sounds like a great idea for my next video πŸ˜‰

  13. cammie Says:

    hey-

    I’ve been trying to get adjusted to life in TN-but I have to say-this video had me ROFL-hahaha! Thought I’d use just a few more alphabet soup letters! Great job Morriss!

  14. Team Building Consultation Says:

    Thanks for putting up this very helpful information; I happened to get to your web log just searching around the web. Please keep up the good work!

  15. Don't Get The Shaft Says:

    Don’t go to RBFCU and open an account, because you will get the shaft!
    http://www.boycottRBFCU.com Oh add a new acronym: FYRBFCU and they also go by FURBFCU or 1984RBFCU if you know what I mean!!!!

Leave a Reply

