Slideshare is treating its members like rock stars

Yesterday I uploaded my presentation on Online Community Building to a presentation sharing service called SlideShare. In the interest of allowing viewers to find out more about the presentation, I provided links in comments on the first slide to the live blogging that Andy LaFlamme did on my talk, as well as Mike Templeton, and my own page on the subject. For some reason, these links did not format properly, which Mike immediately alerted me to, via twitter. I responded that it appears that SlideShare must not like people to link away from their site. Within minutes, I was followed by the SlideShare twitter account, and saw that he/she had twittered to me that this was a glitch on their end that they were working to fix. I was impressed with that level of customer service; they are obviously monitoring twitter for mentions of their company name.

Ron Shevlin and Morriss ParteeIn a nice bonus surprise, I got an email this morning letting me know that my SlideShare presentation is featured today on the company’s home page (9th in the Featured Presentations list on the left). This is a delightfully recursive twist, since one of the points in my presentation is to treat your members like rock stars; something that we at EverythingCU.com do by putting the photos of the currently visiting members on our home page. Way to do things right in World 2.0, SlideShare. In the email I received, SlideShare suggested that I blog about the placement, something which did not immediately occur to me, but hey, that’s a great idea. My only recommendation for improvement is to put a name and face to these customer service folks who are doing things right.
(Photo credits: Lisa Randolph and Lisa Hochgraf)

[fun update: Since being featured on SlideShare’s home page, it’s been viewed 750 times, favorited 4 times, downloaded 61 times, and been embedded into two blogs, both Dutch.]

4 Responses to “Slideshare is treating its members like rock stars”

  1. Mike Templeton Says:

    Another great example of how Twitter and Web 2.0 are changing the face of customer service. I can’t wait to start hearing stories about customer service reps at CUs answering questions and helping members via Twitter.

  2. Jeffry Pilcher Says:

    I was quite surprised to see a Merrill Lynch presentation I uploaded to Slideshare was yesterday’s “Slideshow of The Day.”

    “The Frugal Future”
    http://www.slideshare.net/ICONiQ/the-frugal-future-presentation-637762/

    It was viewed almost 2,000 times in 24 hours. Props to the presentation’s author, a Merrill Lynch economist, who told an interesting story entirely with graphs (59 of them).

  3. Morriss Partee Says:

    @Mike Indeed, we may as well acknowledge now that Twitter is an important communication channel, and may become as important as email. Since the email channel is now a part of CU’s contact centers (or should be), it’s time to integrate twitter as well. Of course, this assumes that the CU is not blocking twitter.

    @Jeffry Nice job sharing that. Goes to show how word will spread on an important and timely topic. I was one of the viewers, and indeed, got a great sense of the story from just the slides. That’s not always the case with a presentation.

  4. Daniel Says:

    Hey Morriss!

    Ashwan and I were the ones who responded to you yesterday. He’s in the New Dehli office and I’m in SF, but we were both logged in and jumped on your tweet.

    I’m glad we could help. We know that not everyone uses the formal feedback loop, so we go and look for feedback where we can find it.

    Keep up the good work at EverythingCu!

Leave a Reply

