Remembering

I will never forget where I was on the morning of September 11, 2001. On September 10, 2001 life was good. Even though the internet stock market bubble had burst, I was happily working away at building the EverythingCU.com community. My 2 1/2-year old son was at home with his mom, and the mornings had the beautiful, crisp coolness that signals that glorious fall is on its way in New England. On September 11, my son was starting his first-ever day at pre-school, and I was at my office in Open Square, a converted mill building, when I heard the news from the office across the hall. They had a TV in their office, and we watched in shocked disbelief. It just didn’t seem possible that something as awful as this could happen in our nation. It was definitely a jolt to my sense of reality. It’s still hard to believe that the 9/11 tragedy is real, and not a Hollywood horror movie. But I’ve seen Ground Zero first hand, and I’ve seen the memorial lights shining to the heavens, trying to light the way for those who perished in that awful, scary, heart-wrenching morning.

Here is a link to an excellent photo tribute, Seven Years Since on Boston.com.

Please feel free to share your thoughts and memories on this anniversary.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Remembering”

  1. Ginny Brady Says:

    September 11, 2001 – I was trying to cope with the grief of the death of a dear friend on 9/1 and suddenly that grief exploded and joined the feelings of terror, despair and solidarity with the entire nation. It was one of those rare instantaneous, historical traumas that, in a moment, changed the entire spirit of our country.

  2. Credit Union Warrior Says:

    I was visiting my family in Indiana with my girlfriend (now wife). We were supposed to leave for my apartment in Richmond, Virginia, that morning. We received a call from my mom who was running some errands in town that we needed to turn on the news – that there had been a plane crash at the World Trade Center.

    We turned on the news and spent the next 30 minutes in near silence.

    The national news always felt so distant until that day. Suddenly, the news of New York was like news in my hometown. I’ll never forget the shock, the fear, the anger, and the solidarity that poured through our veins that day. I hope the rest of us remember it as well.

  3. Andy LaFlamm Says:

    It was my freshman year of high school. I was in band class working on a song called Maelstrom. A student ran in and handed Mr. Foss a note and he promptly cut us off. He said a plane had hit one of the twin towers.

    We all thought it was some guy in a little Cessna style plane so we pick our instruments back up and started playing again. A few minutes later the same student ran in with another note. We were cut off and Mr. Foss read the note saying that a second plane had hit the second tower.

    A friend of mine ran into the back room and carried a TV into the room, plugged it in and we were instantly shocked by the images we were seeing.

    We sat there for several hours trying to figure out what was going on. None of us were quite able to grasp what was happening and why. We sat in stunned silence with only the TV making any sound.

    Here’s to the thousands of innocent people who died that day. You are honored, and missed by those that knew and loved you, and even by those of use who never knew you at all.

  4. Morriss Partee Says:

    Ginny, Matt, and Andy, thanks for sharing. It’s nice to hear each others’ stories about the experience, and understand that that day, as sad as it was, brought us all a little bit closer together.

Leave a Reply

