URL personality test

It’s clear that what types of things people buy are a reflection of their personality, how they perceive themselves, or how they wish others to perceive them. That’s a given when it comes to brands in categories such as cars, clothes, and coffee.

Well, I’d like to point out another brand that tells people about one’s personality, and that is one’s choice of URL shortening site. (Yes, the fact that I’m writing about this means that my personality equals total geek.)

URL shortening was necessary in the early days of the internet and text-based email, but then faded away as html email became ubiquitous. But URL shortening has experienced a resurgence as twitter, with its 140-character limit per tweet, grows ever more popular.

The personality types:

  • tinyurl – This is the Dunkin Donuts/Ford/Toyota of url shorteners. It was one of the originals, and is the most popular. Not a lot of bells and whistles, very utilitarian. The default standard. It works, but nothing exciting going on here.
  • urltea – My personal favorite. The Starbucks of url shorteners. It has an elegant environment (relative to others), is an elegant domain name, and is slightly easier to use than others because it automatically puts the shortened url onto your clipboard for easy pasting. I laugh nearly every time I open it up and see the site’s tag line: smooth sips of decanted web addresses.”
  • snurl or zurl.ws– whenever I see either of these, I think of über-effiency nuts in that these sites can create pretty much the absolute shortest url possible by virtue of their ultra-short domain names.

What does your preference in url-shortening site say about you?

Update! (May 2, 2008): I just found out about a new type of url shortener designed SPECIFICALLY for twitter with added twit functionality. This now supplants urltea as my personal shortener of choice: tweetburner. Via tweetburner, you can find out the most popularly clicked URLs as well as what is most popular of YOUR tweeted links. Cool added functionality that ties into the network more/better wins.

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “URL personality test”

  1. Brad Garland Says:

    Love it Morriss! Funny stuff…I use tinyurl mainly because of the Firefox extension it has…right click any page or link and create one w/o having to go to the site. So, it all comes down, yet again, to ease of use for me.

  2. Christopher Says:

    I’m with Brad – total utilitarian. In firefox, it defaults to tinyurl and I’m lazy enough not to care.

  3. Morriss Partee Says:

    @Brad – Right click? What’s that? 😉

    Just kidding – I am totally on board with ease-of-use, and you’ve taught me something new. Thanks!

    But I still prefer the elegance of giving out smooth sips of decanted web addresses even though it’s a couple more clicks.

  4. Jeffry Pilcher Says:

    “Snurl?” Gesundheit!

  5. Matt Fagala Says:

    Fun post and I learned something. I didn’t know about the Firefox extension either.

  6. CU Communicator Says:

    I use tinyurl, and have never been to the others … because someone recommended tinyurl to me on Twitter.

    Not gonna disclose who, but his name rhymes with Yaris Marquee. 😉

  7. Morriss Partee Says:

    @CU Communicator/Jeff – Rly? Some silly person whose name rhymes with Boris Lockkey recommended that? Well, it shows you what a geek I am…. I discovered these other sites by looking at the shortened URL of what people tweet in their links. Who, but a true geek, does that? 😉

  8. Morriss Partee Says:

    Update! I just found out (via other twitterers) about a new type of url shortener designed SPECIFICALLY for twitter with added twit functionality. This now supplants urltea as my personal shortener of choice: tweetburner. Via tweetburner, you can find out the most popularly clicked URLs as well as what is most popular of YOUR tweeted links. Cool added functionality that ties into the network more/better: wins.

  9. Mike Templeton Says:

    As an avid drinker of Earl Grey tea, I use urltea as my shortener of choice. It may not have the most plugins or options, but I like the name, the design of their site and the way it functions.

    However, now that I’m using Twhirl to post to Twitter, I’ll have to take a look at Tweet Burner and check out their stats functionality.

Leave a Reply

