LinkedIn credit union employees

William Azaroff, of Vancity CU’s ChangeEverything fame, suggested that I create a LinkedIn group for credit union employees. So I applied for the group, and it was approved yesterday. And now you can join the credit union employee LinkedIn group here.

I would be remiss if I didn’t mention that the EverythingCU.com is already a thriving, private community of credit union professionals with much more functionality than LinkedIn. On the other hand, only approximately half of credit union professionals in the United States are members of EverythingCU.com, so I’ve created this group as exposure to let more people know about the tremendous resource and community of EverythingCU. EverythingCU.com currently has 5774 members respresenting several thousand credit unions across North America and a few in other parts of the world.

Tags: , , , ,

9 Responses to “LinkedIn credit union employees”

  1. terrell Says:

    Morriss, I am wondering…what is the benefit of belonging to the group in LinkedIn? Is it just a designation? I’m reluctant to join yet another “group” b/c I already do Twitter and EverythingCU. I’m not even on Facebook and am feeling more pressured every day to join. I know all this social media stuff is cool, but there comes a point where it is simply too overwhelming. I can’t keep up with 100 conversations all day long.

    I say this all with a smile, of course. I am truly interested in how people manage all these sites/resources. Thanks Morriss!

  2. Robbie Wright Says:

    Sweet, I’m in!

  3. Ginny Brady Says:

    Morriss, I’ll spread the word at UFirst.

  4. Morriss Partee Says:

    Hi Terrell,

    Thank you for the wonderful question. It’s a great point; you are not alone in experiencing social networking fatigue.

    I like LinkedIn for certain things because it is the site which is the most like having a Rolodex of business contacts. As William Azaroff noted, it’s the one site where he can put his full resume and have it be featured nicely. LinkedIn is very business-like, and is not very interactive, which are its strong suits as far as I’m concerned. If I meet someone at a conference or while traveling, I don’t mind at all adding them as a LinkedIn contact because I know I’m not going to get any spam by doing so.

    But wonderful connections can indeed happen via LinkedIn. A reporter once contacted me through LinkedIn to get connected with a colleague that I am friends with. By virtue of that (re)introduction, the reporter wrote an article that featured both me and my friend.

    And the cool thing about LinkedIn, is that if someone you know peripherally changes jobs and/or email address, all they have to do is update their own LinkedIn page, and you can stay in touch. Otherwise, they might be lost as a contact forever.

    I used to really like LinkedIn for business aquaintances, but when I attended FacebookCamp Toronto in October, I learned that professionals are the fastest growing segment on Facebook; that Facebook usage in Canada is off the charts, and Facebook has pretty much replaced LinkedIn in Silicon Valley. But LinkedIn still has it’s place as far as I’m concerned. It’s kinda like Wall Street Journal vs. USA Today. 🙂

    But to answer your initial question, don’t sign up for LinkedIn if you don’t want. I only did this to alert other CU professionals, who might be using LinkedIn, come across this new group there, to then discover the wonder that has blossomed into EverythingCU.com. That’s where the real action is in CU-land. But I might be slightly biased about that. 😉

  5. terrell Says:

    Morriss, I think you misread my question, or maybe I wrote it poorly. I’m already on LinkedIn and have been for quite a while. My question was more about what the group aspect is all about. Does any discussion happen there? And if I’m already participating in EverythingCU, what is the point of being in the LinkedIn group?

    Thanks again.

  6. Morriss Partee Says:

    Hey Terrell,

    Sorry to cloud the issue and mis-interpret your original question.

    I don’t really know what the new LinkedIn groups do, or are for. William pointed out that groups now exist there, so I thought I’d try it out. I imagine it’s just a way to designate yourself as a CU employee, and meet and/or reconnect with others who are also CU professionals. Don’t really know more than that. Don’t know if there will be any conversation associated with that. That would actually be a bummer as far as I’m concerned ’cause the discussion is already happening on EverythingCU.com.

  7. William Azaroff Says:

    I’m sorry if I caused trouble. Think of it as more of a Credit Union badge for LinkedIn people who are credit union folk. Let’s see if it can evolve…

  8. Morriss Partee Says:

    Hey William,

    It twas just your suggestion. I’m the one who went for it. I can’t help it… I love shiny new things. 🙂

    But seriously, like you said, I just view it as kind of a badge. I don’t know what LinkedIn has in store for Groups. They are probably just feeling the heat from Facebook replacing LinkedIn’s purpose, and are trying to figure out ways to copy or compete.

  9. william azaroff » Blog Archive » For credit union employees on LinkedIn. Says:

    […] So I passed the idea to my friend and EverythingCU marvel, Morriss Partee. Morriss went ahead and started the group. […]

Leave a Reply

