Ginny Brady, UFirst Boardcast

The highlight of the afternoon had to be Ginny Brady. Just as Shari Storm of Verity CU is the first CU employee to blog, I would wager that Ginny Brady is the first Board Member of a CU to blog. I had learned of Ginny’s blog via OpenSource CU, but I had never put two and two together to realize that Ginny was in upstate New York, about a four hour drive away from Western Mass. The real delight of the session was learning that not only is Ginny blogging her credit union’s annual meeting, and putting photos from it on Flickr, she’s explaining how to use Google maps to create personalized mashups. Wow. I complimented Ginny on being more advanced than her CU’s marketing agency. I think that blogging is a natural fit for the cooperative, democratic nature of CUs and their boards. CU Board members sincerely want to represent their members. How better to do that than to engage them via a blog? So if you are a credit union professional or board member, and aren’t currently blogging, the real question is why not? There is no better way to engage your membership in dialogue, at the same time letting the members know what you and your CU are up to.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Ginny Brady, UFirst Boardcast”

  1. UFirst FCU in Plattsburgh « EverythingCU.com World 2.0 Adventure Says:

    […] Carpenter of UFirst Federal Credit Union in Plattsburgh, New York, yesterday. I first met Ginny in Spokane, where she was invited to speak because of her experience blogging. To the best of my knowledge, […]

  2. The Boardcast gets a new look « EverythingCU.com World 2.0 Adventure Says:

    […] the privilege to work with Ginny was itself due to social networking. I first had the privilege of meeting Ginny in Spokane, where she was presenting her blogging experience on a panel alongside William Azaroff and Trey […]

  3. E'lyse Betters Says:

    Hi Ms. Brady,
    I am a writer for Press-Republican and Cardinal Points. I just noticed a comment you posted on an old article of mine back in May, it goes like this:

    Ginny Brady
    posted 5/08/08 @ 6:49 AM EST
    I’m trying to contact Elyse regarding an interview I had with her about Credit Unions on April 29th. Elyse, if you get this comment would you please email me?

    –So basically, I was wondering what you needed?

    E’lyse Betters

  4. Morriss Partee Says:

    Hi E’lyse, thanks for stopping by and commenting. I’ve forwarded your message and email address to Ginny. Better late than never!

Leave a Reply

